What is gluten




Gluten is a plant protein contained in wheat, rye and barley, therefore, most bread and cereals, but not all representatives of this large family. Gluten is not present in wild rice, corn, buckwheat, millet, and amaranth, quinoa and soy and sunflower seed.

Gluten-free bread is not bread

Gluten is a substance which makes bread flexible and with appropriate texture. This is the reason that from flour, from which is removed most of the gluten, results sticky dough and makes bread sticky. In addition, gluten contributes to other important properties of bread.

In the dough keeps gases that are released during fermentation, allowing for rising dough. Bread during baking, also thanks to the gluten harden and gets the proper form. Gluten has also absorbent properties and that’s why bread in the soup and other liquids wets. On the other hand, old bread gets mold because of gluten. Gluten-free bread is without these characteristics.

Gluten-free diet

People with celiac disease cannot digest gluten. For now, the only form of “treatment” is gluten-free diet to prevent the emergence and worsening of the disease, since the failure of this rule can be fatal. In addition, people with celiac disease have to be careful when eating cereal that does not contain gluten such as oats, as they are often grown in the vicinity of gluten grain or is processed in the same bins.

Gluten could be removed from the wheat flour, but not entirely. However, producers who do so, are allowed to write on the declaration that the food “does not contain gluten” (as is allowed to write that the product “contains no calories” if portion contains four calories or less). Gluten-free diet

Reliable and safe

On the basis of the above, it is evident that there are no completely safe industrially produced foods – exceptionally with those where it is clearly marked on the declaration. The reason for this is that it is impossible to completely exclude the possibility of contamination during the manufacturing process. The manufacturer also doesn’t need to declare the ingredients (like flour), which were present throughout the production chain.

Therefore, the surest way to convince you of the possible content of gluten in the food is that you contact the manufacturer and ask him for an answer, preferably in written response. You can also contact the Society for celiac disease, where have a detailed list of gluten foods and gluten-free foods.

Attention to the Declaration

When deciding to purchase you should first carefully read the list of ingredients and in case of doubt contact the manufacturer directly. Special attention is needed when a buying thickening products, which often contain wheat flour.

Gluten may also be contained in some emulsifiers and stabilizers. Wheat flour is in the food industry a very popular filler, binder and flavor enhancer that’s why products labeled “no added wheat flour” are not necessarily gluten free.

Acne Gluten|Gluten Free Diet|Clear skin diet

You may also like...