Gluten free diet



A gluten-free diet is suitable for those who have problems with digestive system and for patients with celiac disease.


What is gluten?

Gluten is part of protein stored in certain types of cereals. The main characteristic of gluten is that binds water and is responsible for elasticity of the dough. Prolamins that are part of the gluten proteins, in turn, cause damage to mucous membranes in people with celiac disease. Wheat, rye, barley and oats contain prolamin, which can be harmful to people who have celiac disease, so they avoid them. Maize, rice and buckwheat also contain gluten, but not prolamin and can therefore be enjoyed by people who have celiac disease and those who enjoy a gluten-free diet.

Patients and people whose nutrition is gluten-free diet must be careful when buying food on their ingredients. Gluten-free foods can be bought in specialist shops and in the dietary departments of hypermarkets and pharmacies. Gluten is usually not labeled on the ingredients, but can be contained by various stabilizers, preservatives and thickeners. Often is the information about ingredients of food products very superficial and therefore a selection of the right foods is very difficult.

Gluten Free Diet Foods

Foods to which we must be especially careful in gluten-free diet:

Milk and milk products

We must be careful of fresh cow’s milk, fruit yoghurt and ice cream with additives, which are not, marked “gluten free”.

Vegetables

We must take care that the vegetables are fresh and not old or woody and we must avoid a strong acid vegetables.

Fruits

In principle, we can enjoy all kinds of fruit. Consumption of large quantities of pears, plums and grapes should be avoided.

Starchy foods

We have to avoid products from wheat, rye, barley and oats. We cannot even enjoy sweets from gluten, puddings and other products that have added any type of flour from cereals listed.

Meat and meat products

Allowed are all kinds of meat, but we must be careful in industrial meat products and cans containing any trace of gluten. So we have to read the label always before buying and eating them.

Fats

Avoid fat. Other fats are allowed.

Drinks

We do not recommend drinking cereal coffees, spirits and beers as it can contain traces of cereals and ingredients that contain gluten.

Sugar

We must be careful to various chocolates and sweets with fillings.

Spices

Larger quantities of strong spices are better to avoid because they can have effects on digestion.

Gluten Free Diet Example Menu

For breakfast you can make delicious porridge with milk. For the morning snack you can eat sour milk and a piece of gluten-free bread. Lunch is more abundant and it starts with a good vegetable soup. As a main dish you make stewed meat with rice and green salad. Afternoon snack should include various fruits. For a dinner something light. Top rice milk with fruit.

For some people this is a way of life. So they use a lot more time with buying and preparation of food. Because they have to be very careful not to eat the wrong food.

Gluten Acne|What Is Gluten|Clear Skin Diet

You may also like...